Spotting my internet hypocrisy

How often I would complain to myself that so many companies and organizations don’t know how to present themselves online – that their sites lack creativity and personality.

Then I noticed that I’m using a template for my blog.

At times I would think that I should change it, but I never seem to get around to doing it. Well, my excuses aren’t any better than whatever it is those companies and organizations thought when they were putting up their websites.

Of course I seem to rarely have time for the small changes – there was a great quote that things that are easy to do are also easy not to do – but I should. My excuses are beyond stupid – they are nonexistant.

So…

3 Comments to “Spotting my internet hypocrisy”

  1. Relja, you have a blog, not a web site. That’s a huge difference. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Heh, yes and no – it depends on what (or how much) one wants from a blog. Sure, a website must (or at least should) incorporate careful design choices from the start, while you could say you can have a more relaxed approach to a blog. However, no matter what my goal with my blog is, the design, I believe, has to be functional, which means I need to create a more detailed archive system, a more up-to-date about page etc. Forchirstsake, when I rewrote the About page last time, I forgot to put in an email or some sort of contact form – and I do want to also connect with people through it.

    While it’s true that good content is king, it doesn’t mean you shouldn’t strive to make it as accessible and presentable as possible. From the feedback I get, I know that some of my writing has the effect I strove for, but how many were turned away because I didn’t bother to spend a bit more time with the design part?

  3. There is only so much design you can go for with a blog ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

